NHL playoffs 2019: Sharks got away with one vs. Blues, hockey Twitter rulesMay 16, 2019 2:11pm

So, what will the hockey world be talking about all day Thursday (and probably Friday, too)? Give you one hint: #handpass.

More to the point, the seemingly missed handpass that led to the Sharks' game-winning goal in overtime vs. the Blues on Wednesday. The four on-ice officials — referees Dan O'Rourke and Marc Joannette and linesmen Matt MacPherson and Jonny Murray — didn't see or didn't judge that Timo Meier's right hand directed the puck to teammate Gustav Nyquist. Nyquist then fed Erik Karlsson, who beat Jordan Binnington to give San Jose a 5-4 win in Game 3 and a 2-1 series lead in the Western Conference finals.

The play was not reviewable.

MORE: Thornton makes history with two-goal game

A league executive offered non-answers when asked whether Meier made an illegal play in the San Jose offensive zone, but the responses by prominent non-St. Louis, non-San Jose hockey Twitter people were much less circumspect: This was a bad miss by the men in stripes and the league:

Game 4 of the series is Friday in St. Louis. By time the puck drops around 8 p.m. ET, the #handpass will have been sliced, diced and ground into the ice. There will be new calls/missed calls/bad calls to put under the microscope.

Page 1 of 1
AdChoices

Related Searches

Related Searches

AdChoices